Who are the MCA?

The MCA, otherwise known as The Maritime and Coastguard Agency is an agency of Her Majesty’s Government and is responsible for regulating a variety of maritime-related activities, industries, personnel and British Registered vessels.

It has been active for over two decades and responsibilities include;

  • Seafarer training & Certification
  • UK Ships Register
  • Cargo & Ships Safety & Certification
  • Marine Notices
  • Commercial Fishing & Fisheries
  • Civil Hydrography
  • Inland Waterways
  • Pollution Prevention
  • Search & Rescue Services

The MCA sets and regulates training and revalidation for professional seafarers. The Royal Yachting Association (RYA) is also regulated by the MCA and sets the syllabus for and subsequently accredits the training centres delivering RYA courses including the RYA Yachtmaster Offshore and RYA Yachtmaster Ocean Certificates of Competence.

Holders of these certificates may take the MCA’s oral examination to qualify them for MCA qualifications including Officer of the Watch 220 Tonnes (restricted and unrestricted). 

The MCA also specify and regulate the minimum coding requirements of British Registered vessels including small commercial vessels and yachts used for commercial purposes (such as sail training vessels).

Click here to visit the MCA website.

Related articles: